Coastal Connecticut's 2020 Property Tax Rates
Throughout Connecticut, properties are taxed using a mill rate. In this formula, one mill equals one dollar of taxes due per $1,000 of assessed property value. For example, if a town has a mill rate of $23.45, it means that the homeowner must pay $23.45 for every $1,000 of property value annually.
The assessed rate of a home in Connecticut is 70% of its appraised value. So if you own a home with an estimated worth of $500,000, you'll only have to pay property taxes on $350,000 of it.
Keep in mind that in addition to your standard mill rate, some communities have extra taxes. These taxes depend on the neighborhood in which you live. In Westbrook, Connecticut, for example, there are small tax increases for those living in Cedar Crest, Champan Beach, Grove Beach, Island View Beach, Pilots Point, and Stannard Beach, with many communities through the state having similar increases.
Make sure you check with your community association if you have any questions about additional taxes in your community.
Here are the standard mill rates for communities on the Connecticut Coastline in 2020:
New Haven County Property Tax Rates
- East Haven - $32.42
- Branford - $29.07
- Guilford - $32.03
- Madison - $28.35
Middlesex County Property Tax Rates
- Clinton - $31.25
- Killingworth - $27.47
- Westbrook - $24.67
- Deep River - $29.42
- Chester - $28.79
- Essex - $21.65
- Old Saybrook - $19.75
Property Tax Rates in New London County
- Lyme - $19.95
- Old Lyme - $22.41
Ways to Reduce Your Tax Bill
While your town's mill rates are set by local officials, there are some ways to reduce the amount that you pay, depending on your scenario.
- Upon the arrival of your tax bill, you must go over it to ensure that the numbers are correct. Your tax card will include information about your assessment, in addition to your tax rate. Keep your tax card every year and compare the numbers because a small error could lead to you overpaying on your taxes.
- Throughout Connecticut, homes are re-assessed every five years, but if you feel as though your assessed value is far higher than it should be, you can petition this amount. It's a good idea to appeal if you have documentation showing that your property has decreased in value, or if you've noticed property values falling in your neighborhood. A complete revaluation of your property might become necessary if you don't have evidence to support your claim. In rare cases, your appeal could end up before the courts.
- There are exemptions for the elderly, disabled, and military personnel throughout Connecticut. The Connecticut General Statutes provide exemptions for these people, which are automatically deducted from your tax amount. If you feel like you should have a waiver, but it hasn't been applied, contact your local Assessor's Office. While this deduction won't eliminate your tax bill, it will reduce it.
- Make sure that you attempt to participate in your reassessment. It isn't always possible to tag along, but it's a good idea to ask. You'll have more information on your home than anyone else and can provide your assessor with this data. If property damage has occurred, and you believe that it should influence your home's value, let your local officials know before tax season.
- You should also speak with your neighbors about property values during tax season, particularly if you know of someone who has gone through with a revaluation. If other homes in your neighborhood have seen their values drop after revaluation, you could be in line for a similar reduction, which could lead to less tax money being due.
Reducing your tax invoice will take some diligence, and there's no guarantee that it'll be successful, but it is possible for some people to lower the amount that they owe. Properties on the Connecticut Shoreline are hot commodities, which can inflate home values, but by keeping an eye on your tax bill, you can potentially reduce your charges.